Office of Undergraduate Advising & Career Services

Who is My Advisor?

Professional Advisors for Freshmen & Sophomores

Freshman and sophomore accounting, economics, economics education, finance, financial planning, management, marketing, operations management, and Management Information Systems majors may see any advisor in the Lerner Undergraduate Advising Office.

Freshmen and sophomore Hotel, Restaurant & Institutional Management (HRIM) and Hospitality Industry Management (HSIM) majors are advised by Ms. Kim Wilson.

Sport Management majors are advised by Mrs. Cindy Walkusky.
 

Schedule an Appointment

To schedule an appointment with an advisor for these majors, call or stop by:

Office of Undergraduate Advising & Career Services
103 Lerner Hall
302-831-4369
Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m.

You will be assigned a faculty advisor for your junior and senior years.

A few of our majors have specific advisors for all four years of study. To schedule an appointment with an advisor for these majors, contact them directly.

  • Entrepreneurship & technology innovation majors are advised by Ms. Tricia Monnig, tmonnig@udel.edu
  • International business studies majors are advised by Dr. Gregan, greganj@udel.edu

 

Professional Advisors

Cindy Walkusky
All Sport Management Majors

cwalkusk@udel.edu
302-831-4369
Fax: 302-831-0708
Kim Wilson
Freshman & Sophomore HRIM and Hospitality Industry Management Majors

wkim@udel.edu
302-831-4369
Fax: 302-831-0708
Tricia Monnig
All Entrepreneurial Studies Majors, Horn Program in Entrepreneurship

132 E. Delaware Ave. Suite 100
Venture Development Center

tmonnig@udel.edu
302-831-4619
Trish Moore
Academic Advisor


trishm@udel.edu
302-831-4369
Fax: 302-831-0708
Carrie Baldwin
Academic Advisor

baldwinc@udel.edu
302-831-4369
Fax: 302-831-0708

 

Faculty Advisors for Juniors, Seniors and Honors Students

Please contact the faculty advisor for your major(s) to schedule an appointment.

Accounting


Dr. Jeff Gillespie, gillespj@udel.edu, 211 Purnell Hall, 302-831-1790

Honors Students only: Dr. John Wragge, wraggej@udel.edu, 214 Purnell Hall, 302-831-1807

Management Information Systems (MIS)


Ms. Diane Wright, wrightd@udel.edu, 007 Purnell Hall, 302-831-6515

Management, Marketing and Operations Management

Mrs. Sandra Fields, fieldss@udel.edu, 203 Lerner Hall, 302-831-4565

Economics


Dr. Elizabeth Bayley, ebayley@udel.edu, 416C Purnell Hall, 302-831-4623

Economics Education


Dr. Bonnie Meszaros, meszaros@udel.edu, 342 Purnell Hall, 302-831-1896 

Entrepreneurship & Technology Innovation

Ms. Tricia Monnig, tmonnig@udel.edu, 132 E. Delaware Ave. Suite 100, 302-831-4619

Finance and Financial Planning

Mr. Tim Detwiler, detwiler@udel.edu, 321 Purnell Hall, 302-831-6820 (last names beginning A-M)
Dr. John Stocker, stocker@udel.edu, 319 Purnell Hall, 302-831-8241 (last names beginning N-Z) 

Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Management


Dr. Francis Kwansa, kwansa@udel.edu116 Raub Hall, 302-831-6083 (last names beginning A-I)
Dr. Robert Nelson, bnelson@udel.edu, 202 Raub Hall, 302-831-6455 (HSIM majors and HRIM majors last names beginning M-Z and all HRIM and HSIM Honors students) 

International Business Studies


Dr. Jennifer Gregan, greganj@udel.edu, 118 Lerner Hall, 302-831-2553 

Sport Management


Mrs. Cindy Walkusky, cwalkusk@udel.edu, 103 Lerner Hall, 302-831-4369

The Lerner College is home to a state-of-the-art financial trading facility, the $1.5 million student-led Blue Hen Investment Club, a student-managed restaurant and hotel, a high-technology development center of a global bank and a start-up experience for students with new business ideas.

Undergraduate scholarships, made possible through the generosity of alumni and friends, enable us to support promising scholars. Here, Delaware Gov. Jack Markell and his mother, Leni Markell, join recipients of the William Markell Scholarship (center), which benefits students in Accounting and MIS.

The Institute for Financial Services Analytics is a collaboration between the Lerner College, UD's College of Engineering and JPMorgan Chase, and hosts events for academics and the business community designed to address consumer analytics and industry applications.

All Lerner College departments offer discovery learning experiences and emphasize data-based analytics to enrich the student experience. Here, students at Vita Nova, our award-winning restaurant run through HRIM, joined professional chefs and winemakers in hosting a 2014 Mid-Atlantic Wine and Food Festival event.

Lerner College faculty - like Meryl Gardner, whose research on foods and moods was recently published in the Journal of Consumer Psychology - are thought leaders who command attention from influential business audiences, economists and policy makers.

  • Alfred Lerner College of Business & Economics
    303 Alfred Lerner Hall  •  Newark, DE 19716  •  USA  •  ©